I ditched Facebook this morning when I realized my carefully-constructed "Don't show this part of my profile" list was wiped out in the last redesign.
I've always thought the complaints people make after each redesign were simply resistance to change, but this time it doesn't seem worth it to continue.
I had my privacy settings set to "Custom" for wall posts, photos, and some other profile elements.
I excluded a list of people from seeing posts I made and posts other people put on my wall.
When I used the "View my profile as," I wouldn't see the excluded elements.
Once the new design launch, I realized that all these settings were lost - I can do "View my profile as" one of the people on my excluded list, and see the stuff I didn't want shown.
Your information will likely never leave Facebook. I know of a few people who "cancelled" their accounts, only to rejoin at a later time. Their information was preserved. They didn't even have to re-friend me.
I've always thought the complaints people make after each redesign were simply resistance to change, but this time it doesn't seem worth it to continue.